Song #2 of 100: Audioslave – Like a Stone

Performance Notes:

I love this song. It is actually very easy to play, but difficult to get the tone and the effects set up properly. I tried to get as close as I can to get the tremolo sound as well as the delay + whammy solo. I think I got pretty close and am happy with the sounds I got. After learning it and then practicing it for about an hour, I was able to get an “acceptable” result on the third take. I had a little bit of trouble with timing my footswitch changes for the different sounds of the song, but I eventually got it. Also, the bridge section I thought I was on time but it turns out the backing vocal falls behind a little bit and makes me sound ahead! Ugh.

Production Notes:

This one was simple. One track for the backing track, and one track for the guitar. Recorded direct via the Fractal Audio AX8 into the Focusrite Scarlett interface using Mixcraft Studio 7. I adjusted the levels to match afterwards.

Equipment Used:

  • Guitar: G&L Tribute ASAT Classic
  • Amp/Effects: Fractal Audio AX8
  • Recording Software: Mixcraft Studio 7
  • Interface: Focusrite Scarlett 6i6
  • Video Editing Software: Pinnacle Studio 20
  • Camera: GoPro HERO 4

Link:

https://iohanr.wordpress.com/2016/12/24/im-going-to-learnre-learn-100-songs-in-2017/

Song List:

  1. Foo Fighters – My Hero
  2. Audioslave – Like a Stone
One thought on “Song #2 of 100: Audioslave – Like a Stone

Leave a Reply

